Historic Sites Click
here for our History Hunt
Julian was founded following the Civil
War, when displaced Confederate Veterans from Georgia headed West to seek
their fortunes in a new, mostly unsettled land. Among these were cousins
Drue Bailey and Mike Julian, who found a lush meadow between Volcan
Mountain and the Cuyamacas to their liking. They were there in 1869 when
cattleman Fred Coleman found the first flecks of gold in a creek. It was
San Diego County's first and only gold rush.
The town was named Julian, in honor of
Mike, who later was elected San Diego County Assessor. The town was never
big, at the most boasting a population of about 600---more than reside
within the historic district today. Rumor has it that Julian almost became
San Diego's county seat.
The gold rush was short-lived, nearly
over within a decade. But the pioneers stayed and began farming the rich
land. While many crops were planted and animals pastured, Julian proved to
be a fine place to grow apples. Apples continue to be produced in Julian.
Their sweet, fresh flavor lures thousands to the mountains each fall, when
visitors will find fruit stands overflowing with crisp fruit, homemade
cider and other delicacies.
Click here for our
Replica of original pioneer house, owned by Chris and Annie Grosskopf.
Chris worked in the mines as a blacksmith. Adjacent to Julian Pioneer Museum
Julian Cemetery Association
Historic cemetery in the town of Julian
P.O. Box 534, Julian, CA 92036
Julian Historical Society Office
A one-room school house which served
students from 1888 to 1954 in the Witch Creek community of Highway 78. It
was moved to Julian and opened as a library in l974 and is now used by the
Julian Historical Society.
2133 Fourth Street
Julian Historic Walking Tour---Map available for self-tour at
office located at the Town Hall---on the corner of Main & Washington
Streets. Plaques placed on historic buildings on Main, Second, Third,
Washington, B and C Streets reveal Julian history from Gold Rush times
to the 1920s.
The two-cell jail, built in 1914, served as classy overnight
accommodations for town drunks. For a time the jail contained the only
indoor toilet in Julian.
Corner of C and Fourth Streets
Julian Pioneer Cemetery
Contains graves and headstones of many Julian pioneer family members.
Farmer Road---Entrance located on A Street
Julian Pioneer Museum
Julian’s Little Attic boasts the finest lace collection in
California, plus 1896 to 1913 clothing, photographs, household and mining
equipment, Victorian era pianos, an original Julian City buggy and sleigh,
extensive exhibit of Indian artifacts and animal and bird mountings, all
indigenous to the area. Built in the mid-1880s to serve as a brewery for
Peter Meyerhofer, the structure was converted to a blacksmith shop which
operated there until the mid-1930s.
2811 Washington Street
Julian Town Hall
The nearly 100-year-old Town Hall displays historic photos upstairs. It
Chamber of Commerce office where maps, brochures, books and an informed
staff can provide advice on visiting Julian. Town meetings are still held
2129 Main Street
The Old Well houses Julian's original fifty foot deep hand dug well inside
of our store front. We specialize in vinyl records and vintage clothing.
Drop in today!
2102 3rd Street, P.O. Box 1691, Julian, CA 92036
Spencer Valley School
The existing school house was built in 1906. The original was built in 1876 as a one-room school,
but was either torn down or burned. This unique school (now with more
than one room) continues to serve youngsters in the Wynola area as a
single-school district, one of the few remaining in California.
4414 Highway 78/79
MYSTERIES OF JULIAN’S HISTORY
Explore the nooks and crannies of Julian’s historic district, learn about
local history, and have a chance to win a cash prize when you participate in
Julian’s History Hunt. The History Hunt, an ongoing event, sends sleuths
throughout the town site of Julian, in search of answers to questions about
historic sites, in hopes of winning $50.00.
Participants can pick up a History Hunt card at the Julian Chamber of
Commerce, located at the Town Hall, 2129 Main St, or at a number of
businesses in the historic district. Follow the map on the card to answer
questions about sites dating back to 1872. Along the way, visit the 2-cell
Julian Jail, the Wilcox-Juch House, the Pioneer Cemetery, or other sites you
might not otherwise stumble across. Drop your completed card in the box
located on the porch of the Town Hall. Who knows…maybe your card will be
selected in the monthly drawing!
The Historic Hunt, sponsored by The Julian Chamber of Commerce, is great
fun for adults and children alike, and is an on-going, year-around event.